Saudi Arabia suspends entry from 20 countries from Wednesday

  • Saudi health authorities recommended the measures to stop spread of COVID-19
  • The ban does not apply to citizens, diplomats, health workers and their families.

Charter Flights Will be Available to travel to Saudi Arabia From India.

JEDDAH: banned expatriates from traveling to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia from 20 countries to curb the spread of the coronavirus.
Exceptions to the ban, which begins at 9 p.m. on Wednesday, are diplomats, and medical staff and their families.
Travel will be banned from the UAE, Egypt, Lebanon, and Turkey, as well as the US, UK, Germany, France, Italy, Ireland, Portugal, Switzerland, Sweden, Brazil, Argentina, South Africa, India, Indonesia, Pakistan and Japan.
The ban also applies to travelers who transited through any of the 20 countries in last 14 days before a planned visit to the Kingdom. Many passengers had been using Dubai as a transit hub from countries where there are no direct flights to Saudi Arabia, an option that is now no longer available.
The new action comes amid a global surge in cases of COVID-19 linked to variations in the original coronavirus, first detected in England, South Africa and Brazil, and fears that vaccines being rolled out worldwide may be less effective against them.
Britain began door-to-door testing of 80,000 people on Tuesday in an effort to stem the spread of the highly infectious South African variant, and there has been an increased spread of the English variant in Sweden.
Health officials in the Kingdom warned this week that stricter measures would be necessary to curb the spread of the virus if the public continued to flout regulations on social distancing and a ban on large gatherings. Saudi Arabia reported 310 new cases of COVID-19 on Wednesday, almost four times the number a month ago.